↓ Register or Login to Post ↓

Hi, I'm Pops  

RSS
Pops
 Pops
(@pops)
Eminent Member

Hi All,

Newbie here. I call myself Pops because that's what the grand daughters call me. I have two beautiful ones who live in California with their parents. My son is Air Force retired and back in school. Kid couldn't change a spark plug as a teenager, and they had him working on fighter jets in the Air Force. Go figure...

Now, that I am recently retired, I am looking to pick up a few new hobbies other than fishing and gardening, and so me and the wife don't kill each other since we're home together full time, now!

I don't play the fiddle, but I have always wanted to. I was surfing around the internet looking for information last week and I found this website. I've been doing a lot of reading on it and decided to join the forum today.

I am probably going to purchase a fiddle soon. I was thinking of just getting a cheap one from Amazon, but from what I have read on the internet, cheap is not the best way to go. Learned they can be more of a PITA and harder to play than a decent one. I see here on this website Jim talks a lot about Fiddleshop violins, so I am looking at them now. Haven't made up my mind yet.

Looking forward to getting to know you all. I'm sure I'll have much more to say (and ask) once I get my fiddle.

Pops

Posted : December 1, 2019 9:22 am
Bluetick
(@bluetick)
Eminent Member

Howdy, Pops!  Welcome aboard from another new fiddler!  Where are you from?

Ne'er had a brother ner a whole pair o' pants

ReplyQuote
Posted : December 1, 2019 9:28 am
MoonShadows
(@moonshadows)
Admin Admin

Hiya Pops! Welcome to the forum. Nice to have another old folk with us! Likewise, looking forward to getting to know you, too. BTW...I don't think you can beat a Fiddlerman fiddle for the prices. I have two of them (Concert and Artist). Both are beautiful instruments and sound great...well, sound a great as they can with me playing them! 😮

Jim